TV Show Podcasts

Standard

I’ve realized that I thoroughly enjoy podcasts where they go through, episode by episode, a show that no longer airs. Some of my favorites:

Go Bayside

Comedian April Richardson is probably the biggest Saved By The Bell fan and she does this podcast where she watches every episode with a friend (usually fellow comedians) and then they talk about the episode. Some of the guests loved the show like she did, some are just aware of it and some others never saw it or don’t like it at all. It’s a great mix and it’s one of the funniest things I listen to.

I’ve only heard one stinker amongst the whole bunch. Episode 48 featured Justin Warfield, who was actually an extra on SBTB for a short time. That premise excited me, I thought I’d hear some great stories. What I got was a guy who spent a whole episode name dropping his famous friends and acting like he was so above the show. My favorite episodes so far have been with Jimmy Pardo, episodes 25 and 52. You’ll love his unique take on what to do with Screech after he messes up in getting U2 tickets for the gang.

Twilight Zone Podcast & Twilight Pwn

Let me just state that The Twilight Zone is my favorite show of all time. So discovering not one, but two podcasts from fellow fans of the show was a thrill.  The first is my favorite of the two. It has recently changed hosts, but both hosts are excellent. They really dig into the episodes and give a ton of backstory on them, as well as personal insight. I’m a trivia nut so I enjoy hearing tidbits about the actors, the production, etc.  The Pwn is more light-hearted, and while I like it, I do wish they’d treat it a little more serious at times. They have a great bit where they do their own version of a Rod Serling intro for the episode which I thoroughly enjoy.

 The Night Gallery Podcast

Night Gallery was another anthology series, this podcast is also from the same guys behind The Twilight Zone Podcast so it’s similar in nature. As Chris goes through the show, each segment gets it’s own podcast episode. If you’re a fan, this is a great one to give a listen, there’s so much backstory to each episode. Night Gallery isn’t as well known as Twilight Zone but it’s similar in nature. I actually watched Night Gallery for the first time and treated this podcast as a sort of aftershow for it. This one has finished it’s run.

McCoyCast

McCoyCast is one I recently discovered. This one goes through all the 80’s horror and sci-fi anthology series episode by episode. I’ve only listened to a few episodes and it’s been hit or miss, but it seems to be much better in the more recent episodes. Most of the issues I have had with it have been audio issues.

Official Breaking Bad Podcast

This is one of the best TV show podcasts I’ve listened to. It’s basically an aftershow for each episode of Breaking Bad. Vince Gilligan sits in on the majority of them and there’s a ton of insight and backstory. If you’re going to give BB a chance, or even if you’ve already watched it, this is something you will want to listen to. Unfortunately they only started with Season 2 and didn’t go back to do the first season.

Do you have a favorite you’d like to add?

Leave a Reply

